Showing posts with label Album Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Album Reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Album Reviews: Lover by Taylor Swift

Lover by Taylor Swift.
When I first listened to Taylor Swift, I will admit I wasn't much of a big fan; however, I always felt like she was destined to be a big star. As isolated as her vocals are, what I really like about her is her artistry and strong ability to be connect to virtually everything she sings. She is a woman's artist and for that, I respect her. 

A lot of you may ask "why didn't you like Taylor Swift when she first came out?" Well, when she first came out, she came out with the song Tim McGraw and I just thought that the song was a bit cheesy. McGraw is a great artist, but to name a song after him and use it as your first single, I didn't understand it. And the song made no sense to me. 

It was when I heard the song Love Story from the album Fearless that I knew she was going to be a star. And I was right. Recently, the country crooner released her seventh studio album called Lover on August 23, 2019. Released by Republic Records, Lover includes 18 tracks co-written and co-produced by Swift herself. The album also includes several bonus tracks which are exclusively available to Target. 

The songs include: I Forgot That You Existed, Cruel Summer, Lover, The Man, The Archer, I Think He Knows, Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince, Paper Rings, Cornelia Street, Death By A Thousand Cuts, London Boy, Soon You'll Get Better, False God, You Need To Calm Down, Afterglow, ME!, It's Nice To Have A Friend, and Daylight. The bonus tracks exclusively available at Target include: I Forgot That You Existed (piano version) and Lover (piano version). 

My favorite songs include: You Need To Calm Down, Daylight, Cruel Summer, Paper Rings, Cornelia Street, Afterglow, Soon You'll Get Better, I Think He Knows, Death By A Thousand Cuts, Daylight, The Archer, and Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince, with Paper Rings being her strongest song. The song is a very fun and exciting uptempo and really proves why Taylor Swift is an artist we can all relate to. 

Soon You'll Get Better takes us back to Taylor Swift from the beginning over a decade ago. As a collaboration with the Dixie Chicks, this song is probably the only country, bluegrass genre song on the entire album. Miss Americana & The Heartbreak Prince was giving me symphonic rock vibes, which is very new to hear from Taylor Swift. And Daylight was very new wave and reminded me of something Leona Lewis would have recorded. Brilliantly beautiful. The Archer gave me serious 'Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper' vibes. 

And with every album, there tends to be a weakness. I am not the biggest fan of ME! As much as I love Panic! At the Disco and Brendon Urie (Sarah Smiles is a beautiful song), I didn't care for the marching beat in the beginning and throughout the song. I don't know, but I felt like they added too much to the song with that beat being one of them. It's a fun song, but to me it isn't her strongest song. 

Other songs I dislike on the album include: The Man, London Boy, False God, It's Nice To Have A Friend, and I Forgot You Existed. The vocal diction was not good in I Forgot You Existed, I could not understand a lot of what she sang in the song. The chorus was also not good. False God could have been better without the saxophone playing throughout the song. It's Nice To Have A Friend had a very similar problem, as the trumpet was unnecessary with the song. As perfect as the song was for Swift's pretty isolated vocals, I simply did not get it. And London Boy is not only the worst song on the album, but one of my least favorite songs by her. 

Overall, Lover depicts a story about an effulgent woman who is not letting the obstructively obscure steal her shine. It is very 80's new wave sounding compared to her other albums. Almost possessing a retro redux, this album is a reminder why Swift is a woman's artist and will always remain on top in music. Love her or hate her, Taylor Swift is an artist and Lover proves thus so. With that said, I recommend the album. 

Lover is currently available at Walmart for only $12.97. To purchase the album, simply click here right now. To get the deluxe Version from Target for $16.99, just click here now.


FTC: All opinions are my own. Some affiliate links used. 

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Letters from the Labyrinth from Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Letters From The Labyrinth is the new and upcoming album from progressive and symphonic rock band Trans-Siberian Orchestra. It is their sixth studio album, scheduled for release on November 13, 2015. Delivering the sounds of the season, the album offers 15 tracks by the band. Dubbed as the first hybrid album from Trans-Siberian Orchestra, this album was produced by Paul O'Neill, the founder of the band and co-produced by Dave Wittman. Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to new album - Letters From The Labyrinth. So, what did I think?
 
Time & Distance (The Dash)
Written by Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
The beginning of the song jumps right into an operatic chorus which reminds me of a Nightwish and Epica redux. The song is inspired by the changes of humanity through the years and is based on Night Castle from 2009. The lyrical delivery is majestic and consists of a choir of operatic sopranos singing through the entire song. The reverb works here and almost sounds natural. As the song continues, you can really get more of a rock sound. The sound is very much hard rock. The guitar riffs are good and really bring a whole meaning to the season.
 
Madness of Men
Written by Ludwig van Beethoven, Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
When I first heard this song, almost instantaneously, I could really tell this was going to be a song that would captivate the audience. The instrumental in this is so incredibly exciting, and I really love the delivery of this song. It's classical and timeless yet has that hauntingly beautiful symphonic rock vibe to it. I really love the piano sound in this song more than anything else. I think Beethoven would be very proud of this one. I love how the song starts light and yets darker and speeds up. This is what makes the Trans-Siberian Orchestra so magical.
 
Prometheus
Written by Ludwig van Beethoven, Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
First and foremost, the beginning of the song really starts out with a piano arrangement that is so exciting. I knew the moment it was played the angle it was going into. I really love how this song delivers both the classical and rock genres together instead of just starting with one and leading into the other. The guitar riffs are amazing. Jeff Scott's vocals are very strong and remind me of a 80's rock redux, which I really can appreciate. Out of the many renditions of this song I have heard, this is one of the best I have heard yet. In fact, I don't know if I would call this a rendition, but rather an enhancement.
 
Mountain Labyrinth
Written by Modest Mussorgsky, Paul O'Neill
This is one of those tunes that really grabs you instantly. The first thing that caught my attention was the ability to evoke such a hauntingly beautiful tune into something exhilarating. Like musical magic. It is very celestial yet virtuous. It starts out slow and innocent and really brings excitement towards the middle of the song which one can really appreciate. I really love the instrumental arrangement here, as it clearly works. This is definitely my favorite song from the album so far.
 
King Rurik
Written by Paul O'Neill, Vitalij Kuprij
The beginning of the song brings you a crepuscular keyboard solo which really renders a meaning here. Then about a few seconds short of a minute into the song, the song really picks up into an uptempo ballad. The song offers an amazing guitar riff that reminds me of The Who. The ending is something that leaves a lot to desire. Overall, the song is very powerful and the message is very clear here.
 
Prince Igor
Written by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Alexander Borodin, Alexander Glazunov, Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
The strings really come to life in this song and truly do take you to another place when the drum parts come in. At first, I was confused, but now I get it. The keyboard (the organ in particular) is really exciting in this tune. It is the 6th song of Letters From the Labyrinth and I find myself really appreciating the instrumental arrangement of the song here.
 
The Night Conceives
Written by Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
The classic guitar is the first part I hear and almost immediately I can hear various guitar riffs that tell me it's going to be more of a bluesy song. Shortly after, Kayla Reeves comes in. This song is very bluesy in comparison to most songs I have heard from the band. Kayla Reeves sounds fantastic. She's like a cross between Ann Wilson, Joan Jett, and Bessie Smith. The lyrics really depict a message. This is definitely not something you are use to hearing from Trans Siberian Orchestra yet it works. I really enjoy this song. If you are into blues music, I think you will not only love this tune, but appreciate it much more so.
 
Forget About The Blame
Written by Johnny Green
This is what is referred to as the Sun version of the famous song from Johnny Green. I really appreciate the execution of the song. It's more dark than the original and really brings something new and unique to the tune. Robin Borneman's voice is great on this track and you can feel the passion in his voice with this song. The lyrics really convey a purpose here.
 
Not Dead Yet
Written by Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
This song is truly something to desire. The opening bassline is quite uplifting. It reminds me of Walk this Way with more of a Funk spin on it. The rhythm is very evident here. The song is inspired by controversy based on the veracious lyrics. Russell Allen sounds great. He has a raspy voice that I really enjoy. After Allen sings his part, the composition starts to really take off. The guitars and drums are outstanding. I really love the use of the keyboard here.
 
Past Tomorrow
Written by Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
The strings and the piano are incredible here. Jennifer Cella has a stunning voice and really brings the song to life the moment she comes in. The song is dark Symphonic rock at it's finest with a classic crossover vibe to it. The song's storyline is stirringly striking too. If you are a fan of Epica, Within Temptation, Xandria, and Lacuna Coil, you will love this song. This is my favorite song from the album so far.
 
Stay
Written by Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva
When you first hear this song, you are not sure what it is until the instrumentals start to really take off. This power-ballad is a Savatage cover. For those of you who are unaware, Savatage was a heavy metal band created by Jon Oliva and his brother Criss in the late 70s. (RIP Criss Oliva) Adrienne Warren has a beautifully dark voice in this tune. Not quite buoyant nor melancholy, but somewhere in between. I really love how this song starts very light and ends dark yet you can hear where the moments are. It's very different from the original and almost as good.
 
Not The Same
Written by Paul O'Neill, Ireland O'Neill
First and foremost, when I first heard this, I could envision a gospel redux. Almost like Yolanda Adams or Christina Aguilera singing in a church surrounded by a choir. The song depicts a message, a real message about ignorance and bullying. It is quite expressive. The instrumentals are one thing, but when Kayla Reeves comes in, the song really takes off from there. She sounds amazing here. Absolutely amazing. Reeves has a lot of soul and the soul really sold me here. The piano leaves so much penchant. The songs just keep getting better. This is my favorite song of Letters From The Labyrinth so far.
 
Who I Am
Written by Paul O'Neill
Virtually instantly, I was getting sounds of classic rock. Very much The Who meets Queen with a hint of Mozart. The operatic choir here really works with the drums. The lyrics do not go unnoticed, but with such powerful instrumentals and vocals, that is the main focus on this song. It's a very exciting song and reminds me of a tune you would hear during an adventure. Absolutely outstanding. The music just continues to get better.
 
Lullaby Night
Written by Johann Sebastian Bach, Paul O'Neill
This is by far the best enhancement of Ava Maria that I have heard in a long time. To be honest, I wasn't sure if this risk would pay off because this song is very big and has been recreated many times, but it really works here. The melody has been darkened and refined, the notes really blend well making a timeless tune into a modernized earworm of euphoria. I also love the backdrops of vocal modicums. I get goosebumps just listening to this song. Trans-Siberian Orchestra really proves they can deliver some of the greatest music the world has ever heard with this song alone. My only con is that I wish it were longer. Do you think Bach is dancing in Heaven right now?
 
Forget About The Blame
Written by Johnny Green
This is another fantastic Johnny Green cover. Lzzy Hale's voice is really unique with this song. This is the Moon version. The acoustics really bring a rustic sound that does not upstage the vocal, but merely hides beyond the vocal stylings of Hale. Speaking of Hale, Lzzy Hale's voice really brings a very avant-garde rock to this tune. The best way to describe it is Suzie McNeil meets Joan Jett. Needless to say, I prefer this rendition over the Sun version. As the 15th track and final song to Letter's From The Labyrinth, this is also a featured bonus track.
 
Trans-Siberian Orchestra is filled with some of the most talented musicians in the world. The members of the band include: Paul O'Neill, Jon Oliva, Al Pitrelli, Luci Butler, Chris Caffery, Roddy Chong, Angus Clark, Joel Hoekstra, Mee Eun Kim, Vitalij Kuprij, Jane Mangini, Asha Mevlana, Johnny Lee Middleton, John O'Reilly, Jeff Plate, Derek Wieland, David Zablidowsky, and Dave Wittman.
 
Letters From The Labyrinth will be released on Friday, November 13, 2015. This is symphonic rock at it's finest. A plethora of melodies that produce only magic to the ears. This album brings you both light and dark polyphonies that cross into various genres while depicting a story that goes beyond any plot or libretto. A story that is so intoxicating and yet delivered in a hauntingly beautiful way. That is what music is all about. Would I recommend this album? Absolutely.
 
RATING: A

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Album Reviews: Our Revolution by Rog & Pip

Rog & Pip are pioneers in the freakbeat genre. As former members of the Sorrows, this dynamic duo has such a strong impact on the psychedelic and glam rock revolution. Rog & Pip released a new album entitled 'Our Revolution' which includes a special collection of unreleased tunes. Recently, I had the chance to hear it. What did I think?

To kick off Our Revolution, the first track is Why Won't You Do What I Want? This uptempo song is quite exciting. It reminds me of Heartache Tonight meets Cherokee People, but more exhilarating. I am loving everything from the strong beat, the story itself, and the lyrical delivery. Definitely a good tune to start the album off.

I am loving the guitar parts in My Revolution, which is the second song on the album. This song reminds me of a British Invasion redux, as this tune embodies bona-fide freakbeat. I am loving the strong beat in this song. This song makes me think of an era that I never got to experience. 

Some of the best songs I have ever heard are from decades that I never lived in. The song Rock With Me really makes me think of a time that I wish I did. I am loving the story, as well as, phrasing in this song. 
When I first hear Evil Hearted Woman, I am reminded of American Woman at first. The beginning is quite strong, which I love. The guitar riffs are excellent in this Rog & Pip addition. This tune is classic British rock at it's finest. "Evil hearted woman, evil hearted woman". 

I am loving the trills in the beginning of Gold. It is a strong ballad, which so many psychedellic accents. You have to love this song. I have to be honest, based on instrumental arrangements alone, this is one of the strongest songs on the album.

I am loving the track, Doin' Alright Tonight. For some reason, I am reminded me of Boston when I first heard this song. The rock is quite hard, but yet progressive. I definitely can hear the freakbeat come to life in this tune.

Out of all of the songs, I found myself really impressed with A Little Rock 'N' Roll. It's one of the most exciting songs I have heard yet. I cannot help, but dance and head bang to this tune. The lyrics, the story, the voice, the melody, the harmony, the delivery, yeah. I love everything about this song. 

The song Hot Rodder reminds me of a Beatles redux. This song truly epitomizes what the British rock invasion is all about. The song is quite catchy and really something to not only love, but appreciate.

I really love It's A Lonely World. It is a strong ballad that tells a story, a very sad story. It's quite sad actually. The chorus is quite haunting. Almost melodious. I love the guitar solo in this song too. This song is one of my favorites I have heard yet on the album, if not my favorite.

Our Revolution is quite a good album so far and Why Do You Treat Me Like That? proves it. This uptempo is quite strong. I love the lyrics in this song. I am reminded me of Deep Purple meets My Bloody Valentine a lot in this tune. "Why do you treat me like? Why do you treat me like that?"

This album truly does take you to another place. The freakbeat is so evident in every tune and From A Window is just more proof of that. The song is angry yet uplifting, making it an exciting tune. Even though it isn't one of my favorite songs on the album, it is saved by the excellent guitar solo in the middle of the tune.
The final track is Warlord. It is quite exciting and in terms of beat, it reminds me Evil Hearted Woman. The story is quite deep and I am loving the lyrical delivery in this tune. Not sure if this is my favorite song on the album, but needless to say it's great.

Rog & Pip's Our Revolution is scheduled to be released on Tuesday, June 24th. Would I purchase this album? Absolutely. Would I recommend this album to a friend? Yes, but only if they are into British rock. This album really delivers freakbeat at it's finest, so be prepared. For more information about Rog & Pip, please visit http://www.riseaboverecords.com/artists/relicsartists/rog-pip/ today.

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Album Reviews: Savage Gold by Tombs

Savage Gold releases this Tuesday, June 10th 2014.
Tombs is an avant-garde metal band located in the heart of Brooklyn, New York. With Mike Hill as the frontman and guitarist, Garett Bussanick on guitar, Andrew Hernandez II on drums, and Ben Brand on bass, they are one of the most exciting bands you will hear this year. Especially if you are into black metal, doom metal, or hardcore music. Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to their third studio album, Savage Gold. What did I think?

The first track is Thanatos, which I would describe as death metal with a freakbeat influence. The song is quite haunting in the beginning, but starts to get exciting towards the middle and end. I am really loving the drums throughout this tune.

As I continue listening, I am introduced to Portraits. This song has one of the most exciting beginnings I have ever heard. The guitar parts are one thing, but the drums are ridiculously good. As an uptempo ballad, this is bona-fide death metal at it's finest.

Seance is one of those rock tunes I would describe as exciting yet dark. I could hear this song being played on True Blood. The growls, grunts, and screams delivered by Hill are the most polished than most songs on the album. 

I can feel this album just getting started as I am introduced to Echoes, the fourth track on the album. Hearing this tune, I am getting AC/DC's Razor's Edge meets Epica's Cry For The Moon. This song really proves how talented Tombs is.

Deathtripper is the next song, which I would describe as a hauntingly beautiful experimental metal number. The lyrical delivery is practically flawless in this tune and goes amazingly with the instrumental arrangement. The dark happens towards the middle of the song. This song is my favorite song on the entire album.

This album just keeps getting better. The next tune is Edge of Darkness has quite an infusion. I love the beginning alone, as the drums are epic. As the song continues with various guitar riffs, when Hill comes in, the song pretty much takes off. 

I think I am ready to headbang any second now. The next song, Ashes really conveys what exciting death metal actually is. I love everything from the drum arrangement to the solid guitar parts. This song is crazy good!

Legacy is quite exhilarating. The vocals tend to come in sooner than the other tunes on the album, but the great moments lie within the bridge of this tune. If you listen to the lyrics, they really tell a story.

As I continue listening to Savage Gold, I am introduced to Severed Lives which starts out quite white in terms of metal. Hill delivers regular vocals, then half way through the song he starts growling and screaming making it a dynamic song and wonderful addition to the album.

Track 10 is the final track, Spiral. It is quite exciting and once again, when it comes to experimental and Tombs, the two just go together amazingly. I love the guitar parts, as I love the drums. And with the vocals, this song simply works.

Savage Gold by Tombs will be released on Tuesday, June 10th 2014. Will I purchase this album? Most definitely. Would I recommend this album to a friend? Yes, but only if they are into death metal, doom metal, and hardcore music. For more information about Tombs, please visit http://www.facebook.com/TombsBklyn today!

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Album Reviews: Under Satan's Sun by Bloody Hammers


Bloody Hammers is a darkwave, gothic rock band located in the heart of Transylvania County, North Carolina. Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to their third and latest album Under Satan's Sun which comes out June 10th. What did I think?

The first track, The Town That Dreaded Sundown is definitely a song that I could hear being played in a classic horror movie. This uptempo gem provides you with excellent vocal delivery, but what I loved most about this tune was the story itself. 

Some of the greatest songs I have ever heard are dark and send a moving yet eccentric message. I have to admit, Spearfinger is quite a tune that embodies what I enjoy about dark rock. Horror is all about being frantic and projecting that feeling onto others. 

When I first heard the third track, Death Does Us Part, I was reminded of Kurt Cobain meets Marilyn Manson virtually instantaneously. Then, when I heard the lyrics, I was reminded of a dark story of love and hate. This is one of my favorite songs on the album.

The fourth track, The Moon-Eyed People, has one of the most exciting entrances I have heard yet. The story itself is a balance of dark and light, making it a memorable tune. This song needs to be played on the next vampire flick.

The beginning of Second Coming is of a man chanting about his ideologies and the prophecy. After the sample is played, the song takes off from there. Providing you with a fantastic story line followed by a fantastic uptempo beat. I really love how the drums sound in this tune.

I just love how Welcome To The Horror Show starts out soft and turns into an epic dark rock tune. This song reminds me of Marilyn Manson meets David Bowie with a hint of Nirvana. This is one of my favorite songs I have heard yet this year.

When I first heard Under Satan's Sun, I was pleasantly surprised with the lyrical delivery and how much it reminded me of Better Than Ezra. The song is quite dark, but possesses a light story line. 
Dead Man's Shadow On The Wall is one of the most exciting tunes on the album. This is what dark rock is all about. When I heard this song for the first time, I immediately envisioned a man that was suffering in silence. 

Some of the greatest songs I have ever heard tell an amazing story, but also provide you with amazing instrumentals to back up that story. That is one thing I love about The Last Alarm. I felt as if I was trapped in a David Bowie meets NIN redux when I heard this song. 

When I first heard The Necromancer, the tenth and final track on the album, I felt like I was trapped in a horror movie. This movie starts out very creepy yet sinister and pretty much picks up from there. 
Under The Satan's Sun by The Bloody Hammers is scheduled to be released on Tuesday, June 10, 2014. Would I purchase this album? Absolutely. Would I recommend this album to a friend? Yes, especially those that love dark hard rock and/or metal. For more information about the Bloody Hammers, please visit www.bloodyhammers.com today. 

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Album Reviews: Karjajuht by Metsatöll

Metsatöll is a folk metal band located in the heart of Estonia. I remember when I first heard this band, it was back in 1999 when they released Terast Mis Hangund Me Hinge. Now it is 2014 and they are releasing a new album which I am excited about. 

Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to Karjajuht, Metsatöll's newest album which comes out May 27th. What did I think?

I absolutely love Külmking, the first track. The instrumentals are insanely epic during the bridge part of this tune. This song is not in English, so the story will be hard to understand if you don't understand Estonian. 

Metal music is all about excitement and Lööme Mesti is definitely an exciting song. The instrumentals are exceptionally amazing. I love the use of the flutes, torupill, kannel, and goathorn in this tune. Of course Markus brings the song to life with his rocking vocals.

See On See Maa starts out slow. The flutes in this tune really stand out, along with the mouth harp. I am really loving the vocal delivery, along with the story itself. I have to be honest, when I first heard this song, I was highly reminded of Rammstein meets Il Divo.

The flute arrangement in Must Hunt is so epic. I do love the vocals in this song because they are polished and I how they go so well with the instrumental arrangement. The story is also quite exciting. 

Estonian as a language is so beautiful. Terasest Taotud Tee is an exciting song. I know that I keep talking about how great the instrumental is, but I cannot help it. The story line is awesome, but the vocals really bring it to life. 

The drums are really exciting in Öö. I actually find myself imagining an Irish dancer, dancing to metal music when I first heard this amazing addition to Karjajuht. I am really loving the use of the stink drum in this tune.

Sometimes the heaviest of metal can be so incredibly beautiful. What I love about Tôrrede Kôhtudes is the instrumental arrangement. I love how the song starts out so fluidly innocent and gets dark once Markus comes in. 

When I first heard Metslase Veri, I was reminded of the army. The drums are insanely solid in this tune, making it quite memorable. I also love the use of the flutes, along with the mouth harp, goathorn, ängipill, torupill, and kannel. 

Folk metal is one of those subgenres that really brings out an artist's creativity. And Surmamüür is proof of this. The story line is quite pronounced in this tune. The vocals are quite raw, as well.

The tenth track is Mullast. When it comes to heavy metal, this song really does deliver a strong message. The vocal delivery it outstanding, which I really like. The use of the flutes and ängipill is something to appreciate, as well.

Karjajuht is not only the album title, but the eleventh song on the album. And what an exciting song it is. In fact, I cannot stop listening to this tune. This is definitely my favorite song on the entire album. 

Talisman is the final track on Karjajuht. It's softer than most of the songs on this album, but still remains true to it's roots. As a strong ballad, this song is the most beautiful song on the album. Metsatöll saved the best for last.

Karjajuht by Metsatöll is available on Tuesday, May 27, 2014. Would I recommend this album to a friend? Absolutely. Especially if you love metal music. This album epitomizes folk metal at it's finest. Would I purchase this album for myself? Yes. For more information about Metsatöll, please visit www.metsatoll.ee today.

Monday, May 12, 2014

Album Reviews: Living On Borrowed Time by Sworn Enemy

Sworn Enemy is a hardcore metal band located in the heart of the big apple. Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to their latest album, Living On Borrowed Time. What did I think?

The first track, Do Or Die is a very uplifting hardcore tune. It is definitely a great way to start the album. I love everything from the actual delivery of this song to the guitar parts to the exciting chorus line - "It's Do Or Die!"

Have you ever heard a song so exciting you start to find yourself head banging? Hard Way is one of those songs. I love this song because it's exhilirating, it's angry, and it's intoxicating.

I am loving the guitar parts in these songs and with Broken Hope the use of heavy riffs continues. The bridge isn't as hardcore as one can expect, but the vocal delivery makes this song come to life. I love the lyrical part in this song.

When I first heard Slipping Away, I was immediately reminded of Disturbed meets Cannibal Corpse. The story in this song is quite moving. Although I am loving the guitar parts, including the riffs, I have to be honest, the beats in this song are what makes this tune exciting.

The excitement continues with No Apologies. I am loving the beats, along with the strong bass line. The lyrical delivery is awesome, but the story itself is something special. This is one of the strongest tunes on the album.

As I continue listening to this album, I am at the sixth track, One Eye Open. This song sends a powerful message. I love how the beginning of the song embraces the use of strings. It's as if it is balancing dark and light. This is one of my favorite songs I have heard yet on the album.

The beginning of this song is so exciting. I cannot stop head banging. Whenever you listen to No Mercy, you cannot help but head bang. The story is incredible and I am loving the vocal delivery, along with the strong chorus long. It is one of the most exciting songs yet on the album. "No Mercy, No Mercy, No Mercy!"

When you think of something you have experienced in life, do you ever forget it? We can try to forget, but I don't think we can. Never Forget is a tune that embraces that concept. The screaming in this song is polished. I am totally loving this tune.

Stand And Deliver is one of those strong uptempo numbers that really embraces the power of anger while delivering it effectively on the listener. This hardcore addition reminds me of Rage Against The Machines meets Faith No More.

Does life change or is it a part of our imagination? We are at track ten. I absolutely love Nothing Changes because the lyrical delivery goes effortlessly with the story line.

The final song, is Rise Above. I am loving the guitar parts immensely in this tune. The chorus line is really strong and I am loving how the beats come out of no where to surprise you.
Living On Borrowed Time by Sworn Enemy was released on Tuesday, May 13th. Would I recommend this album to a friend? Yes, but only if you like hardcore music. If you do not like screamers, you aren't gonna love this album. Would I purchase this album? Absolutely. For more information about Sworn Enemy, please visit www.swornenemymusic.com today.

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Album Reviews: Sacrificium by Xandria

Sacrificium, Xandria's newest
album comes out
Friday, May 2, 2014.
If you can imagine a more polished and refined version of Evanescence, more than likely you will love Xandria because that is what they epitomize. Located in the heart of Germany, this symphonic metal band proves they are one of the greatest bands in the world today. Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to their new album Sacrificium which is due out soon. So, what did I think?

The first track is Sacrificium, which is very dark yet hauntingly beautiful. The instrumentals are absolutely stunning, as the vocals. The bridge is in the beginning and when you hear this amazingly polished tune, you feel as if you are being taken to another place. Everything from the vocal arrangement to the guitar parts, which have their amazing moments. Sacrificium starts out very slow and goes into raw metal, which I truly love.

I was so incredibly impressed with Sacrificium, as it was very beautifully moving. I actually wasn't sure what to expect for the second track on this album. Then, the second track Nightfall came on. Dianne's vocals are very beautiful in this tune and are perfect with the arrangement. The song itself is very Wish I Had An Angel (Nightwish) meets Cry For The Moon (Epica) and as good as both of those songs.

If you are looking to hear an angelic rock song, you will love the third track is Dreamkeeper. I love how Dianne has such perfect control of her voice and in this song, you can hear how amazingly good she is with the musical arrangement. The lyrical content is one thing that I truly love, but what stood out the most is how the instrumental here goes so well with the vocals.

What I love about the fourth track, which is called Stardust is the metal arrangement and the guitar parts. The bridge is in the beginning of the song, which makes it a song you will want to listen to the whole way through. I absolutely love the lyrical delivery of this song. The power in Dianne's voice is really showcased in the chorus parts of the tune.

The fifth track is The Undiscovered Land which is a stunning ballad that should be played on the radio. In fact, the instrumental reminds me of something you would hear in the movie Titanic. The lyrical content is incredible. It's effortlessly beautiful, as it tells a story. The vocal delivery is outstanding, as Dianne's voice is absolutely gorgeous in this song. This is one of the best songs you will hear this year.

I absolutely love the sixth track, Betrayer. It is one of the most exciting songs I have heard yet on the album, as it is one of the most exciting songs I have heard this year. The song delivers an exceptional story, which I really love. Marco and Dianne delivered quite a performance in this tune.

As I continue listening to Sacrificium, I am introduced to the seventh track, Until The End. The beginning reminds me of the theme music in Terminator, but then turns into raw, animalistic metal. When Dianne comes in, the song basically takes off from there. I also love how she really showcases her highs and lows, making it a memorable song.

Have you ever heard a song that made you believe you were stuck in a fairytale? The eighth track is Come With Me, which reminds me of a song that should be on the soundtrack to Maleficient. Absolutely beautiful. The best way to describe this song is that it is innocently dark.

When listening to the ninth track, Little Red Relish, I feel like I am listening to a real, bona-fide symphonic rock at it's finest. The beat is very catchy, as the drums take over this tune more so than any of the guitar parts do. And in collaboration with Dianne's vocals, this song truly embodies the essence of several genres. I love how you can also hear a darker side of Dianne in some parts of the song. This is one of my favorite songs on Sacrificium.

I have to admit, I am having a blast listening to this album. The tenth track is Our Neverworld which provides you with a stunning piano introduction. Slowly into the arrangement, Dianne's voice comes in. The message behind this song is just flawless. The guitar parts are amazing. I have to admit, I love this song and reminds me very much of Our Farewell (Within Temptation) but with it's unique originality.

Although the eleventh track is titled, Temple Of Hate, there is absolutely nothing to hate about this song. Everything about this song is beautiful. The instrumental in the beginning reminds me of bag pipes having a party. When Dianne comes in, the song takes off from there. The bridge is in the beginning which I love, however; the chorus really is catchy and stands out the most in this tune.

The twelfth track is Sweet Atonement, which is the final song on the album. The song starts out very cherubic. I am so amazed at the lyrics of this song and how well Dianne delivers them. I can hear this song played all over the place. The piano arrangement is quite a stand out, but I love the fact that this ballad still manages to have it's amazing moments all throughout the song.

I want to throw this out there now that I believe this is easily one of the greatest albums of 2014. And whether you love rock or classical or even pop music, you will love Sacrificium. Would I recommend this album to anyone? Yes. Especially those of you that love symphonic metal and enjoy the morphing of rock and classical music genres. If you love dark and haunting yet beautiful music and vocals, you will love Sacrificium. Will I purchase this album? Absolutely. What can I say? This is one of the best albums ever delivered by Xandria. In fact, this just may be their best yet. Sacrificium is available on Friday, May 2, 2014.

For more information, visit www.xandria.de right now!

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Trespassing by Adam Lambert, Best Album of 2012

A lot of amazing things continue to happen in entertainment for 2012 and Adam Lambert's latest album Trespassing seems to be one of them. Debuting at #1 of it's first day of release on the Billboard 200 charts, this is quite possibly one of the most underrated albums I have heard in the past decade. I have listened to a lot of great new albums this year, however; Trespassing stood out to me the most, making it the number album of 2012. Why?  

I really loved how Lambert took an array of risks, but still managed to stay true to his glam rock roots. When it comes to Trespassing, you will hear a different side of Lambert. He isn't as audacious, as taboo like the first album, as this album is more leather and For Your Entertainment is more glitter. Another interesting fact about this album is that Lambert wrote a vast majority of the songs on it, allowing him to prove that he's a real artist and not a commercial one-hit-wonder with ridiculously awesome vocal rock chops.

Trespassing consists of 12 songs. This album also includes 5 additional songs, 3 of which are deluxe edition tracks and 2 that are additional tracks in both the United Kingdom and Japan. The songs on the Trespassing album include:  

1. Trespassing 2. Cuckoo 3. Shady 4. Never Close Your Eyes 5. Kickin In 6. Naked Love 7. Pop That Lock 8. Better Than I Know Myself 9. Broken English 10. Underneath 11. Chokehold 12. Outlaws Of Love  

My favorite song on the album is Runnin (which is a deluxe single track) and best described as #13 on the album. Runnin was written Adam Lambert, David Marshall, Fred Williams, Catt Gravitt, and Robert Marvin. Runnin is an uptempo song crossed into a ballad that talks about someone who is running from life's problems, including running from the things that they love. As the song continues, they begin to realize that choosing to run is not the answer.  

My other favorite song is his current single Trespassing, which was released on the radio on my birthday. Trespassing was written by Adam Lambert and Pharell Williams. Trespassing is the first song on the album and did I mention my current ring, as well as, ring back tone on my phone? Trespassing is an angry fun, uptempo song that exudes freedom. If you can think of Michael Jackson's They Don't Really Care About Us with a glitter spin on it, Trespassing would be the result.

Never Close Your Eyes and Chokehold remain to be my third and fourth favorite from this album.
 
The reality is, some people are going to love it, whereas; some people are going to hate it. To me, that is the place to be. I don't know about you, but boring music with the same banal story line is overrated. Pop music is all about innovation and making people remember your name. To me, this is what this album epitomizes and this is why Adam Lambert's Trespassing is the number one album of 2012.